top of page

Connecting external sensors

Smartphones are equipped with a multitude of sensors, but they sometimes have limitations when it comes to studying certain physical phenomena. That's why we've expanded FizziQ's capabilities by allowing it to connect to microcontrollers via Bluetooth. This innovation opens the door to a variety of exciting possibilities. You can now use a multitude of external sensors to measure parameters such as temperature, pressure, weight, CO2 concentration, and more. Our connection protocol is open and easy to use, meaning anyone can benefit from the power and simplicity of data logging and analysis offered by the FizziQ app.

Contents :

What microphone-controllers can connect to FizziQ? -What Bluetooth service use? - Message structure -How to connect FizziQ?Special case of an ArduinoSpecial case of a micro:bitSpecial case of an ESP32Special case of HM10

Ancre 1

Which microcontrollers can connect to FizziQ?

All microcontrollers with a Bluetooth BLE connection can connect to FizziQ. Bluetooth is a standard wireless communications technology, providing higher data rates suitable for devices requiring fast transfers. Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), designed for low power consumption, is ideal for battery-powered devices and proximity IoT applications. BLE offers shorter range and potentially higher latency, while regular Bluetooth offers greater range and lower latency.

 

In most cases, microcontrollers can communicate in BLE format, such as micro:bit, ESP32 or Arduino Nano 33 BLE devices. If this is not possible, it may be necessary to add a Bluetooth BLE connection module to the microcontroller to send the data. A circuit such as the BM-HM10 can then be used, for example.

What serviceBluetoothuse with FizziQ?

In theBluetooth protocol, a "service" represents a specific functionality that devices can offer, such as streaming audio or file sharing. Each service may have several "features" that describe the details of its functionality. For example, a wireless headset service may have features such as volume adjustment or music play/pause. This hierarchical organization allows devices to understand and cooperate effectively to deliver a wide range of wireless capabilities, from earbuds to IoT sensors.

For data exchange with Arduino, FizziQ uses the UART service. This service allows you to send any type of data acquired by the microcontroller. Followthis link to the Nordic Semiconductor page.

To connect an Arduino board with FizziQ via Bluetooth:

1. Give the device a name to recognize it, for example: “FizziQ Connection”

2. The service uuid is "6e400001-b5a3-f393-e0a9-e50e24dcca9e"

3. The uuid of the characteristic is "6e400002-b5a3-f393-e0a9-e50e24dcca9e"

4. The service must include a notification (NOTIFY)

Whatis the message structure ?

The data exchanged by the UART service must bestructured in the form of a character string in the following format: 'NAME: VALUE'. For example, to send information about a voltage of 5 volts, send the UART message: 'Voltage: 5.0'.

 

The following measurement names are recognized by FizziQ:

- temperature

- weight

- humidity

- tension

- pressure (atmospheric)

- acceleration

- brightness

- magnetic (field)

- compass (compass)

- co2 (concentration of)

- tvoc (volatile compounds)

- intensity

For this data, the units and an icon representing the data will be automatically recognized and displayed. 

 

Data different from those recognized can be shared with FizziQ, but unrecognized names will be displayed under the name of a generic sensor: "UART".

Note that only the first three letters of the name are recognized by FizziQ so it is not necessary to put all the letters in the message. 

How to connect FizziQ?

Please note, the connection with external sensors is managed exclusively by the application. Do not attempt to pair the external sensor via the Settings menu or native Bluetooth of the smartphone!

 

To connect an external sensor to FizziQ, in the application, in the Measurement tab, select "External Sensors", then press the connection button corresponding to your micro-controller. An icon giving access to the data transmitted by the microcontroller will appear. Data management is done in the same way as any other smartphone sensor. To disconnect the smartphone, tap Disconnect. The disconnection will be automatic if the connection is broken. The Refresh button is used to update the list of smartphone sensors.

What program for an Arduino?

An example program to transmit Humidity data can be found in the following text file:

Ancre 2
Ancre 3
Ancre 4
Ancre 5

The connection steps for Arduino are described in the video below:

Ancre 6

What program for a micro:bit

The connection steps for micro:bit are the same as for micro:bit and are described in the video below:

Ancre 7

What program for an ESP32?

The connection steps for micro:bit are the same as for micro:bit and are described in the video below:

Connection steps for ESP32 are the same as for micro:bit and Arduino

Ancre 8

How to program a BM-HM10 module?

The HM-10 is a small 3.3v SMD Bluetooth 4.0 BLE module based on the TI CC2540 or CC2541 Bluetooth SOC (System On Chip). It allows data to be transmitted in UART format on different services. For more information:  http://www.martyncurrey.com/hm-10-bluetooth-4ble-modules/

Example of a program created with the programming environment of VittaSciences, with a micro:bit card, a Grove extension and an HM-10 module

Capture d’écran 2021-05-30 à 10.42.28.pn
bottom of page

top of page

Connexion de capteurs externes

Les smartphones sont dotés d'une multitude de capteurs, mais ils présentent parfois des limites lorsqu'il s'agit d'étudier certains phénomènes physiques. C'est pourquoi nous avons étendu les capacités de FizziQ en lui permettant de se connecter à des micro-contrôleurs via Bluetooth. Cette innovation ouvre la porte à une variété de possibilités passionnantes. Vous pouvez désormais utiliser une multitude de capteurs externes pour mesurer des paramètres tels que la température, la pression, le poids, la concentration de CO2, et bien d'autres encore. Notre protocole de connexion est ouvert et facile d'utilisation, ce qui signifie que quiconque peut profiter de la puissance et de la simplicité de l'enregistrement des données et de l'analyse offerts par l'application FizziQ.

Table des matières :

Quels micro-contrôleurs peuvent se connecter à FizziQ ? - Quel service Bluetooth utiliser ? - Structure des messages - Comment connecter FizziQ ? - Cas particulier d'un Arduino - Cas particulier d'un micro:bit - Cas particulier d'une ESP32 - Cas particulier du HM10

Ancre 1

Quels micro-contrôleurs peuvent se connecter à FizziQ ?

Tous les micro-contrôleurs disposant d'une connexion Bluetooth BLE peuvent se connecter à FizziQ. Bluetooth est une technologie de communication sans fil standard, offrant des débits de données plus élevés adaptés aux appareils nécessitant des transferts rapides. Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), conçu pour une faible consommation d'énergie, est idéal pour les appareils alimentés par batterie et les applications IoT de proximité. BLE offre une portée plus courte et une latence potentiellement plus élevée, tandis que le Bluetooth classique offre une portée plus grande et une latence plus faible.

 

Dans la plupart des cas, les micro-contrôleurs peuvent communiquer au format BLE, comme les appareils micro:bit, ESP32 ou Arduino Nano 33 BLE. Si cela n'est pas possible, il peut être nécessaire d'ajouter un module de connexion Bluetooth BLE au micro-contrôleur pour envoyer les données. Un circuit tel que le BM-HM10 peut alors être utilisé, par exemple.

Quel service Bluetooth utiliser avec FizziQ ?

Dans le protocole Bluetooth, un "service" représente une fonctionnalité spécifique que les appareils peuvent offrir, telle que l'audio en streaming ou le partage de fichiers. Chaque service peut avoir plusieurs "caractéristiques" qui décrivent les détails de ses fonctionnalités. Par exemple, un service de casque sans fil peut avoir des caractéristiques telles que le réglage du volume ou la lecture/pause de la musique. Cette organisation hiérarchique permet aux appareils de comprendre et de coopérer efficacement pour offrir une large gamme de fonctionnalités sans fil, des écouteurs aux capteurs IoT.

Pour les échanges de données avec Arduino, FizziQ utilise le service UART. Ce service permet d'envoyer tout type de données acquise par le micro-contrôleur. Suivez ce lien vers la page Nordic Semiconductor.

Pour connecter une carte Arduino avec FizziQ par Bluetooth :

1. Donner un nom au périphérique pour le reconnaître, par exemple : "Connexion FizziQ"

2. L'uuid du service est "6e400001-b5a3-f393-e0a9-e50e24dcca9e"

3. L'uuid de la caractéristique est "6e400002-b5a3-f393-e0a9-e50e24dcca9e"

4. Le service doit inclure une notification (NOTIFY)

Quelle est la structure des messages ?

Les données échangées par le service UART doivent être structurées sous la forme d'une chaîne de caractère au format suivant : 'NOM : VALEUR'. Par exemple pour envoyer l'information d'une tension de 5 volts, envoyer le message UART : 'Tension : 5.0'.

 

Les noms de mesures suivantes sont reconnus par FizziQ :

- température 

- poids

- humidité 

- tension

- pression (atmosphérique) 

- accélération 

- luminosité

- magnétique (champ) 

- compas (boussole)

- co2 (concentration de)

- tvoc (composés volatiles)

- intensité

Pour ces données, l'unités et une icône représentant la donnée sera automatiquement reconnues et affichée. 

 

Des données différentes de celles reconnues peuvent être partagées avec FizziQ, mais les noms non reconnus seront affichés sous le nom d'un capteur générique : "UART".

A noter que seules les trois premières lettres du nom sont reconnues par FizziQ donc il n'est pas nécessaire de mettre toutes les lettres dans le message. 

Comment connecter FizziQ ?

Attention, la gestion de la connexion avec les capteurs externe se fait exclusivement pa l'application. Ne pas tenter d'appairer le capteur externe par le menu Réglages ou Bluetooth natif du smartphone !

 

Pour connecter un capteur externe à FizziQ, dans l'application, dans l'onglet Mesure, sélectionner "Capteurs Externes", puis appuyer sur le bouton de connexion correspondant à votre micro-contrôleur. Une icône donnant accès aux données transmise par le micro-contrôleur apparaitra. La gestion des données se fait de la même manière que tout autre capteur du smartphone. Pour déconnecter le smartphone, appuyer sur Déconnexion. a déconnexion sera automatique si la connexion est rompue. Le bouton Actualiser sert à actualiser la liste des capteurs du smartphone.

Quel programme pour un Arduino ?

Un exemple de programme pour transmettre la donnée Humidité se trouve dans le fichier texte suivant :

Ancre 2
Ancre 3
Ancre 4
Ancre 5

Les étapes de connexion pour Arduino  sont décrites dans la vidéo ci-dessous :

Ancre 6

Quel programme pour un micro:bit

Les étapes de connexion pour micro:bit sont les mêmes que celles pour micro:bit et  sont décrites dans la vidéo ci-dessous :

Ancre 7

Quel programme pour un ESP32 ?

Les étapes de connexion pour micro:bit sont les mêmes que celles pour micro:bit et  sont décrites dans la vidéo ci-dessous :

Les étapes de connexion pour ESP32 sont les mêmes que celles pour micro:bit et Arduino

Ancre 8

Comment programmer un module BM-HM10 ?

Le HM-10 est un petit module 3.3v SMD Bluetooth 4.0 BLE basé sur le TI CC2540 ou CC2541 Bluetooth SOC (System On Chip). Il permet d'émettre des données en format UART sur différents services. Pour plus d'informations :  http://www.martyncurrey.com/hm-10-bluetooth-4ble-modules/

Exemple de programme réalisé avec l'environnement de programmation de VittaSciences, avec une carte micro:bit, une extension Grove et un module HM-10

Capture d’écran 2021-05-30 à 10.42.28.pn
bottom of page